FAQ

On this page you'll find useful tips and tricks for the board game Clash of the Ardennes and Clash D-Day.

 

If you still have an urgent question, please let us know: klappe@gmail.com

 



1. I have few units left, when reaching the end of a game. How do I save units?

We often see that players have too many units on (conquered) roads/beachheads. To avoid this, use the option to take your last unit and bring it to the front (2 action points). Do this often! This saves a lot of units (which are very important at the end of a game). Theoretically, you can conquer a road/beachhead only by placing a soldier and a tank and moving them over each other constantly. Although, your opponent probably won't let this happen. 

 

Conquering a road/beachhead with 3–6 units is preferable. 

 

 

In the following example, you see that player 1 places 2 units (1+1 action point = 2 action points) and moves the soldier over the tank, towards the front (also 2 action points). This means his turn is over (4 action points in total).

 


2. If I took the last unit and moved it to the front, can I fill up the gap that is left behind?

Unfortunately not. You can only add units at the top of your line. You can only start building up units from the starting block again, if you are defeated in this road/beachhead.

 

You can't fill up a gap that appeared during a game. Only when the tank and soldier in this example are defeated, you can start building up your units again, starting from the starting blocks. 


3. If I have conquered a road/beachhead, can I retreat units from it?

No, unfortunately not*. This is why you need to conquer a road/beachhead with as few units as possible (see examples above on how to do this). 

 

* Only a few Victory cards do allow you to retreat a few units after conquering a road/beachhead.

 

In this example the Allied player conquered road/beachhead 5. This player can't retreat any of the units, now it is captured.